What is university life like in Australia?

Guest 7Liam7

Can any give me some detailed insites of what its like to go to university in Australia?

I'm a 19 year old student and my sister lives in Aus and my mum is going to live in spain.

I want to go to uni in melbourne australia rather than going to spain with my mum but i'm not sure now simalar an experience i'm going to get to Uni life in the UK.

I want a good education but i also want the other things that university brings like a great social experience and going out having fun.

Can anyone tell me all they know about going to university in aus or past experiences? Maybe storys from other people?

I really don't know what i want to do and i need some more insite before i make my decision, as moving to aus to go to uni would be a huge leap for me. And an exspensive one at that!

Thanks alot

Both my boys went to ANU which scores well on any ranking systems. The biggest difference is that in order to get honours you have to do 4 years study rather than 3 and the 4th year is usually more of a research year than plain old course work. The courses all have quite substantial fees - if you are a citizen you can defer payment of the course fees until you are earning (usually between $5k and $10k pa) but if you are a permanent resident then you pay the domestic fee rate but have to pay it up front every semester (2 semesters a year). If you are a temporary resident then take out several mortgages because it will cost you mega$$$