Depressed in Melbourne! (sorry for all those who love it here)

Guest itskaren

Guest itskaren

Hi

I need to get a few things off my chest so I hope most of you won't mind me using 'Poms in Oz' for doing this. We have been here since Dec 07 and I can honestly say I have never been so depressed in my life. I have 2 boys 10 and 7 in a lovely private school which they both love. I am a nurse working 4 nights one week and 5 nights the next. It is the same problems just in a different country. I have no friends as I am working all the time. My children are at school club sometimes at 7.30am so my husband can go to work. This was not how it was supposed to be.

I would liked to have thought that I would not have been so naive as to think that things would be better over here but quite frankly in my opinion they are not. The only thing cheaper is the school fees. Unfortunatey my husband has had to go overseas for 2 weeks so therefore I have had to get an agency 'nanny' to sleep over as I need to work because of the dreaded 457 visa. Hardly worth me working.

Looking back in my diary a year ago i was full of excitment and so much looking forward to our new life. We have sold everything in the Uk (we still have a little house that is onl the market) it has cost us about $100k to relocate including flights, 2 cars (secondhand) school fees the list goes on.

So for all of those out there thinking about coming over think again. The grass is not always greener. this does not mean to say that things would be different for you.

Sorry if I have upset anyone with this as some people only like positive comments on this forum.

Guest kdal

Hey no need to be sorry, I think people are happy to hear the pros and the cons, but sometimes the negative comments are a little silly, i.e. the sun doesnt always shine here - well we all know that !!

Is it 2 years you are tied to your job for on that visa type?

You sound shattered and disappointed, do you think you are homesick?