Amazon Kindle - UK to Australia

I was thinking about buying the girlfriend a Kindle for Christmas. We are moving to Australia in a few months (got 457 visa in 15 working days!) and as far as I am aware there is no Amazon Australia. So I was going to buy one here & take it over.

There are 2 Kindles, the normal WiFi one and the WiFi + 3G version. I’m pretty sure the 3G version wouldn’t work in Australia (unless you can replace the simcard?), but is the WiFi still ok? Will it just roam?

I’ve no experience of Kindles or Australia (yet!) so was wondering if anyone here had any experience of taking a Kindle over there?

Eeeek! So much to think about before we go!

Thanks for any help :)

I was thinking about buying the girlfriend a Kindle for Christmas. We are moving to Australia in a few months (got 457 visa in 15 working days!) and as far as I am aware there is no Amazon Australia. So I was going to buy one here & take it over.

There are 2 Kindles, the normal WiFi one and the WiFi + 3G version. I’m pretty sure the 3G version wouldn’t work in Australia (unless you can replace the simcard?), but is the WiFi still ok? Will it just roam?

I’ve no experience of Kindles or Australia (yet!) so was wondering if anyone here had any experience of taking a Kindle over there?

Eeeek! So much to think about before we go!

Thanks for any help :)

There is no sim card. The 3G is built in. It does work in oz as I got my sister one. The only thing tho is the account has to have a UK address attached to it otherwise it doesn't let u download. The credit/debit card doesn't have to be UK based. Hope this helps!

Hoping for a move to oz in the coming year or two.......hoping not three!

:biggrin:So, I also fired this question at Amazon, and this is their response:

Hello Sean ,

On looking into your enquiry, I understand that you wish to use Kindle in Australia and want to purchase Kindle books from Amazon.co.uk.