Need help understanding the pension system

2bpepperrogers

Hi,

My wife and I are both teachers and are moving to Australia in September 2015 (hopefully permanently and getting citizenship as soon as we qualify). I've been teaching for 9 years but she is younger and only in her 3rd year of teaching, some of which has been supply work. We haven't got a clue about how our pensions will work and don't want to end up age 65 with nothing!

a. What will happen to our UK pensions? Can we still get these if we are not living in the UK anymore? Is this likely to even be worth it if only been in the job 9 years before leaving?

b. How does the Australia pension system work re. state vs private?

Trying not to let myself get in a flap about this but everything I read just confuses me even more

thanks!!

Australia has a compulsory superannuation (pension) system where your employer has to pay at least 9.5% of your salary in to a superannuation scheme. Some employers will pay in more than this and there is the option to put in more in voluntary contributions. You can open a super account with anyone you like - in most cases you don't have to use your employer's superannuation scheme. The superannuation schemes vary in things like costs and charges and investment options in the same way that the UK pension schemes do. I don't think there is such a thing as a final salary scheme here but there are defined benefits schemes around which pay out an amount based on a formula around how long you have been working and how much you have earned. Other schemes are invested in the stock market and you usually have a choice about where your funds are invested.

There is a state pension in Australia but this is means tested and not an automatic right and the current government seem keen to erode it's value further. I certainly wouldn't be relying on it as a retirement income.