Inheritance

Guest spock

Guest spock

One thing I hope won't come any time soon is the death of my parents.

However, when it does, the proceeds from their house will be shared between myself and my brother. I'm hoping to be in Australia by then.

Does anyone know rules governing inheritance? Hopefully it's not all treated as capital gains.

Any ideas? Thanks,

Spock.

Guest montbrehain

Im not an expert by any means . But when my grandmother died the Govt took £40,000 from her estate because her property was worth more than £240,000. ( a home she had given £1500 for in 1951) I believe the limit is now £270,000. many many elderly people (and their families) are going to be hit with this , As house prices skyrocket in this country. Its just another "Rip off" in this country.

The latest I hear is best of all ! if you were lucky enough to own a house with a big garden that has development possibilities ? get it done soon !! The govt are introducing a "development tax" meaning if you sell your property for building ? they want up to 40% of the profit !!! Great country this !!!! you work your ass off to pay for your home , and have the luck for it to come in to building. Only for the govt to tax it. YET AGAIN !.

I believe I am right in saying that Aussie has no Inheritance tax ? and that what you leave to your family they get ? can anybody confirm this ? Cheers "MO"

Guest spock

Hi MO,

Are you talking about the UK or Oz government here? Sounds like the UK.

Parents have done an incremental will, so that the whole estate is not passed down at the same time and so shouldn't cross the tax threshold).

Assuming this is the case, what I'm asking is, will this sum be subject to ank kind of Australian tax? If they don't have inheritance tax, it sounds suspiciously like they'll treat it for capital gains tax.

Any ideas anyone?