Lots of questions-long post-advice needed!

Guest whattodoforbest

Guest juliemtaylor

honestly with this amount of questions I would seek a good Agent - try Go Matilda or George Lombard - both on here too...

Julie x

Guest destinationoz

Lots of questions that I can't answer I'm afraid .... an agent will help will may charge ... I'd be tempted to read the DIAC website first and phone some agents with a couple of key Q. My narrow understanding is that you can't just stay in Oz on a tourist visa - you need to come back to UK and apply properly, have meds, police checks etc etc .... they could end up shootig themselves n the foot if they don't follow the right process then no-one will end up going .... but I don't fully undertand everything .... good luck either way

Hi there

Wow, complex situation! Okay, so I'm no expert, but I'm Aussie and have worked in government for about 7 years, so might be able to point you in the right direction...

Have you checked out the different options for the skilled migrant visas? This is the list if you are in Australia Visa Options – Professionals and other Skilled Migrants – Workers – Visas & Immigration Reading the descriptions, it's pretty clear to me that you can't just apply for a skilled migrant class visa in Australia. And, going from my experience and what I've heard/read from others, it's not a straightforward or fast process. You need to have all skills recognised by Australian authorities, and you even have to take an English test (yes, even if you are coming from another English-speaking country like the UK).