187 visa Queries from a very hopeful Scottish lass

Rossco

Hi All,

Newbie here and hoping I may get a few clearer answers I understand.

Having seen a job offering sponsorship, I have approached the employer, who now having seen my CV and spoke to me and an immigration lawyer we are all at the point of thinking yes I will be able to get sponsored under the 187 (Regional Skilled Migration Scheme).

Having read numerous facts etc,. Am hoping someone can advise me any advise as even though the immigration lawyer and employer have spoke with me I am in Scotland and they are in Australia so am not clear on a few clarifications.

Please help:-

So they have all my details scanned and rec'd and happy to process. I have been told to sit an IELTS test, now he has stated that when the results are received I then arrange a time to go to Australia and we will then proceed with judgement about 2-3 weeks. (Do I need to be in Australia for judgement??)

He then advises once lodged, the process time/wait is around 8-12 months. During which time I will be holding a bridging visa, which allows me to stay lawfully in Australia (I cannot find anything about a bridging visa and scared to go to soon,). If there is such a visa? Can I work?

I have my home and things to sell/rent organise in Uk so although OMG finding this job and potential sponsor is my forever dream, I don't want to go on a whim if I can do all lodgings and waiting in UK and save more to go, also if I can't work I won't have the funds to manage a possible wait of twelve months.

Thank you for all help anyone may provide.

I am unable to come over on work visa being a young 40 year old haha

Thanks all, Rossi ?

The fact that they're advising you to move to Australia BEFORE applying for your visa sounds dodgy to me. It sounds as though the employer wants you to start work as soon as possible and this is their way of achieving that.

Is the immigration lawyer MARA registered?

Edited by Marisawright