Cpa assessment

March2015

Hi, I hope someone will be able to help me.

I am am a student of CIMA and I have completed the certificate (foundation) level and two operational level modules. The modules match up with the mandatory competency areas for anzsco 2211. I also hav an undergraduate degree in sociology.

Is it possible to get a positive skills assessment with 7 CIMA modules (without completing CIMA qualification)?

To get a positive skills assessment your qualification needs to be of a similar level to an Australian degree, part qualified CIMA is not degree level I am afraid.

Even if it did, you are not going to look great to employers over in Australia with no work experience (post qualification) and an incomplete qualification which will not be recognised everywhere.

Thanks for replying. I have a degree in another field not accounctancy. In the cpa requirement page it does not specify that the degree needs to be in accountancy. I started doing CIMA few years ago as my experience and qualification was at a mismatch. I have 10 years experience in finance. I think the knowledge areas required are covered in the first few modules of CIMA but I could be wrong

Thanks for replying. I have a degree in another field not accounctancy. In the cpa requirement page it does not specify that the degree needs to be in accountancy. I started doing CIMA few years ago as my experience and qualification was at a mismatch. I have 10 years experience in finance. I think the knowledge areas required are covered in the first few modules of CIMA but I could be wrong

Your degree will not help with the CPA assessment as it is not finance/accounting, they will assess what you have done towards CIMA and you do not have a qualification here.

The first criteria they list is "a qualification that is assessed by CPA Australia as equivalent to at least an Australian Bachelor degree", you have not finished the CIMA qualification and part qualification would not be seen as degree level.