Self employed visa options are there any?

clarebear

Hi we are a family of 4 and want to move to Oz asap! My question for anyone who can help is about visas I'm so confused. Is there a visa for people who are self employed? My partner's trade is a self employed floor and wall tiler. He's been self employed for fifteen years. Do we have to go through skillselect? Although I'm under the impression it would be easier to try for a job sponsorship based on my profession (social worker) how do we proceed based on my partners trade? Surely there is a need for tillers I'm told most are

self employed in Oz? Thanks anyone who can help :cute:

I'm a self employed electrician and we have just been granted our visa. Being self employed makes no difference to the application other than the evidence gathering for the skills assessment. Haven't got a clue of his trade is on the SOL but that is where you need to look and a 189 permenant residency visa is always the best to aim for as it's permenant and is into reliant on your own skills and whether you have the correct points. If it isn't on the SOL you can look at the CSOL which would mean you will require state sponsorship or I think a relative sponsor who has a PR would also be ok on the CSOL. Your best bet is to contact a MARA registered agent and go through it with them, they will do a points test and know all the various options.

There are other ways of the trade is on neither list but they require a large initial outlay and massive risk such as buying a Business or a franchise. I've seen these advertised but if it were me I would be very wary as I think that again would be a temp visa and could end in losing lots of money and having to come back.

Bing self employed has no bearing.