How can I get my mum to Australia?

gemma96x

hi everybody a need HELP I moved here 4 years ago married my oz superstar and had beautiful twins I am now a permanent resident, currently living in Sydney and are going back to wagga wagga at the end of the year. My huge problem is I want my mum to come and live with us also my younger brother and sister who are 9 and 12 but this means she doesn't pass the family balance test, she is 49 turns 50 in December and would only have around 200,000 to bring with her she is not a skilled worker so a carnt go that route, is there any other options as I carnt find anything to even get her here apart from short holidays, but if the visa takes so long to finalise surely my brother and sister hopefully in time would become permanent residents and would eventually pass the family balance test please any info would be greatly appreciated...

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Does your mum want to move to the other side of the world? (Your post is very "I want" centric so it's not clear) If she has a life and a home and a job where she is, she may be better off staying put than uprooting herself to isolation and possible poverty. Consulting a registered agent would be a good start but just because you want it doesn't necessarily mean that she would be able to get a visa. Doesn't look too hopeful TBH

My dear old Mum used to come and stay with us from November to the beginning of March. She loved her stays in Australia and I would have loved her to live with us all the time but she had her close friends and other family in Scotland so we never even tried to get her to stay. She was happy with her long holidays and getting to know the grandchildren.