Permanent residency visa due to expire - haven't spent two years in Australia

Guest Clarita99

Guest Clarita99

I need some advice and would really appreciate any helpful feedback>

I am a permanent resident of Australia and am currently living and working in WA. I'm from the UK originally. My daughter is living with me and is settled in day care here. We are both happy. She was born in the UK and is 18 months old. We have been here for four months in total under this visa (skilled worker - independent). I also spent six months living in Sydney under a working holiday visa. I'm an employed teacher in a Catholic school here in WA.

My permanent visa is due to expire in August this year. I have not spent two years in Australia. If I want to leave Australia after the expiry date, I am not legally allowed to re-enter and continue working and living here, as I haven't fulfilled the conditions of the visa.

I need to leave Australia after 2011 because:

1. My husband (who I'm happily married to) is living and working in the UK and is unable to leave his current work due to a contract which runs until 2015. He wants to live in Australia with us, but we won't be able to do that until 2015.

2. My daughter's grandad has cancer and is dying. They need to see each other and spend some quality time together.

I do not want to give up my permanent residency visa. There is no guarantee that I'll get another one if I have to apply from scratch again (especially as teaching is not on the job shortage list any longer and I'm now 35 years old). My husband and my visa run out this year, but my daughter's visa runs out 2015. If I spend two years in Australia, my marriage may not survive and my father-in-law won't be bale to see his precious grandaughter before he dies.

My boss would be happy to write to the immigration department to support my case if this would help.

Is there any way I can get an extension?

Guest MaybeOz

The following info may help:-

Resident Return Visas (RRVs)