Work advice - Construction

Guest Mark2049

Guest Mark2049

Hello all, my name is Mark.

My girlfriend and I arrived in Melbourne last week on Permanent residency visas after two years planning. So first things first we are very excited to be here and can’t wait to get our new lives cracking on!

Before arriving I was well aware of the financial situation taking hold of the world including Australia, since arriving I’ve found my particular job to be in very small demand. I work in the construction industry as a Design Coordinator, due to the economic down turn most projects are on hold or main contractors have frozen any staff recruitment. Since I’ve arrived I’ve registered with two agencies, Hayes and Hill McGlynn (both of which in a round about way told me not to hold my breath). As a previous Architectural technician I may have to resort going back to the CAD station.

Looking at the situation and searching on numerous job sites hasn’t really filled me with any confidence. I’m probably going down the correct and only routes but Id hate to think that I’ve missed / not thought of something. Can anyone (possibly working in the industry) offer any advice?

Cheers guys!

Mark

hi mark... really sorry to hear.. your having no luck on the job front, don't give up !!! i really hope things improve from you... stay positive:idea:

Hello all, my name is Mark.

My girlfriend and I arrived in Melbourne last week on Permanent residency visas after two years planning. So first things first we are very excited to be here and can’t wait to get our new lives cracking on!