Electrical Licensing! Quickest way? Can I get more than a restricted license?

ozzy81uk

Hi Everyone,

Calling all electricians and Instrument fitters!

Im planning on moving to Queensland next summer and this license thing sounds like a nightmare!

Im an Instrument & Electrical Technician by trade but have been working the last two years as a commissioning and maintenance electrician in Germany.

Got my ARTC already and been classed as an Electrical Fitter (Instruments), which from what I've read only qualifys me for a restricted license. So I wouldnt be able to do any of the elctrical work I do know, which restricts my employment opportunities!

Ive heard a few times that applying for a license in SA is the easiest and quickest way. However with this ARTC, I can probably only get the restricted license no matter where I apply??

Does anyone know if I can still get a full license and if so what do I have to do?

How can I do this quickly? and what can be prepared from Germany/UK?

If I can only get a restricted license, should I still go through SA and what is the exact process, the SA websites etc seem to provide little info on the exact procedure. HELP! Do I just need the ARTC or do I need resus course and wiring regs etc?

The Queensland route seems to be out of the question with training permits and logbooks and all sorts of bureaucracy. Can't afford to be messing around for months, want to get working, and need to get the best license I can!

I was told the only way to get a electrical mechanic license would be to do an apprenticeship in Australia, which would be obsurd!

Any help would be appreciated!!

Thanks guys

Danny

Guest Count Zero
Hi Everyone,

Calling all electricians and Instrument fitters!

Im planning on moving to Queensland next summer and this license thing sounds like a nightmare!

Im an Instrument & Electrical Technician by trade but have been working the last two years as a commissioning and maintenance electrician in Germany.