Warning to all overseas qualified electricians emigrating to Australia.

theweave

This thread is being put on as not sour grapes or anger but as help and advice to any overseas qualified electricians emigrating to Australia especially English (I myself being from England).

I will start my story I came to Australia in October 2014 my wife being the main visa applicant as a registered nurse.Having done lot of research in the U.K prior to leaving about my job as a electrician I knew it was going to be tough to work in my trade out here.It is now July 2015 and I have 100% had enough of it here.This post is to warn electricians coming out here in the same position I was how tough it really is.

We started our journey in the gold coast and after looking after my son for three months until he started school I decided to get started as my wife is the visa holder I had to get my U.K qualifications verified and take a theory and a practical exams.

Which came to about 1500 dollars the exams were fairly difficult and the practical exam involving motors was hard (having not a lot of experience with motors).I failed the practical exam (involving motors) and was told I had only one more chance to pass this exam for another cost of 1000 dollars!.It was clearly a money making scam as they know how much you need to get this assessment,so I paid another 1000 dollars and passed this exam.