Air con Engineer and Arctick license

B Bear

Hi guys,

I'm an A/C refrigeration engineer, I've just had my 189 Visa granted and looking for jobs.

as I'm not currently in Australia, can I obtain a license from the UK or do I have to do it in Australia? I've had my skills assessed as part of my visa application but employers are asking for my Arctick license!! It seems to be a catch 22 situation, I need a job to obtain the license but I need a license to get a job!!

can anyone shed any light on this matter??? :confused:

Unfortunately lots of tradesmen have to get State licencing before they commence work. You can try contacting these guys ,explain what UK certs you have and see if they can cross reference any so you may be able to skip some competencies. I think you will have to wait until you arrive as im not sure you can get the ball rolling with courses etc in the UK.

http://www.arctick.org/index.php

Cal x

• 2 weeks later...

Thanks Cal,

I'll be sure to check out the Arctick website when I get back to the UK. I noticed you're originally from Bury, we're also from Manchester.

We're currently doing a reccie and we're heading to Brisbane next week. What's Jimboomba like??? My Wife and I are checking out suburbs in and around Brisbane.

Cheers Pete

We are just under an hour south of the city and the same inland of the gold coast, we love it here , nice and quiet and green and spacious compared to the inner city suburbs yet everything you need is still on hand. Just make sure you drive, drive and drive some more when your looking around ,there are lots of nice suburbs in and around Brisbane though so you will be spoilt for choice,lol

Cal x

1. Does ARC accept qualifications and experienced gained overseas?