Backpacker wage in cafe/bar/restaurant in Sydney

1875HFC

Moving to Sydney on a WHV in October 2013 and I am 22. I will be looking for any work in cafe/bar/restaurants as I have 5 years experience as a waiter back in Scotland.

Brutally honest, how much would I expect to make as a waiter full time in a restaurant?

Thanks

Not quite the same as you....but last August when we arrived my 16 year old, just out of school daughter, with zero work experience got a job in a cafe here in Perth, the wage $30 an hour as a casual worker getting 7+ hours a day.

No shortage of work in the hospitalty trade

FIFI this sounds very encouraging for me. It appears the hospitality trade has a lot of employment opportunities at the moment, I really hope that I will find a job with relative ease, I am a hard grafter!

Will be nice to earn a wage after graduating from Uni which is hard work with no financial return!

Make sure you don't make it all work and no play! 12 months will fly, and Australia is a huge place to explore. There won't be many times in your life from now on when you will actually need so little money to live, and have so few responsibilities - go and do everything!! :)

This is very true! I think I would like a job to also be able to meet people as well as make some spending money to fund further travels. Restaurants and cafes would be ideal with attractive wages compared to the UK. I currently earn £6.00p/h in UK, which is far below the minimum wage in Australia.

I am also very good at living as a student and spending wisely so will hopefully be able to save plenty!

This is very true! I think I would like a job to also be able to meet people as well as make some spending money to fund further travels. Restaurants and cafes would be ideal with attractive wages compared to the UK. I currently earn £6.00p/h in UK, which is far below the minimum wage in Australia.

I am also very good at living as a student and spending wisely so will hopefully be able to save plenty!