Help with Teacher Job Application?

StuartandElaine

Hi,

I am a teacher and will be moving to Perth with my family in July. I would love to get in contact with a secondary school teacher to discuss the kind of things I should include in my cover letter when applying for my first post in Australia.

There is plenty of educational lingo in the UK and a number of key areas which you are expected to touch on in an application, any advice on how to construct my application to provide an area coordinator/head teacher with what they are looking for would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,

Stuart

• 3 weeks later...

Hi Stuart

I am a secondary Maths teacher also hoping to move near Perth (but possibly later on in the year). Have you tried to contact a few schools? I have E-mailed a few schools directly and they have been quite positive and told me to keep in touch regarding the status of my VISA. I don't think the education system in Australia is that dissimilar to here from what I know about it. I know they put a lot of money into educational research.

Thanks

Michelle

• 2 weeks later...
I'm in the same boat, any key info would be appreciated. I guess the next step is to register with TRBWA.Have you guys done this? Was it a simple process? I haven't told my work yet of my intentions!

Do you need a valid visa to register with TRBWA? I haven't done this yet. We are currently waiting to be invited to apply after launching an expression of interest a few weeks ago. I handed my notice in last Wednesday. I think they were shocked (as I only started my new job in September) but supportive. I don't really want the kids to find out but as the teachers gossip more and more it's inevitable! :chatterbox:

What do you teach?

Wow you resigned before getting a visa?! You're brave! I am not sure if you can register before a visa to be honest. I don't see why not. It looks like you gain a type of temporary registration until you've worked 100 days in a WA school or schools.