Looking to take the plunge

Scott McCormack

Hi Guys

I'm 27 years old. The sale of my house should be complete within 8 weeks so will be thinking about making the jump.

I would like to head over on a 417, I work in IT and would look to do a bit of contract work in the Perth CBD.

When I lodge my Visa application, Will I get a year from original date of entry or will I have to specify a date?

Will my Passport need to be valid for the entirety of my stay?

Thanks

:)

Edited by Scott McCormack

I think finding contract work in IT will be hard on a WHV. You can only work 6 months in one job, and even though contract work is part time and can end whenever, they usually perfer someone who can work for them longer than 6 months is poss. My friend tried to get contract jobs, he had a hard time. It's not impossible, just very hard.

Yeah, you definitely need a passport valid for much longer than you're planning on staying. Otherwise, how are you going to get home? And as others have said, getting serious work on a WHV is hard. But good luck, sounds like you're ready for it!

Edited by JonathonS

I came to Perth on a 417 and I work in IT. Within 2 weeks of getting here (Nov 2011) i was offered a 6 month contract through an agency. 3 Months into my contract i was offered a 457 company sponsered visa. Now having been here nearly 3 years the company has sponsored me for a 186 Perm visa. Maybe i got lucky......I can give you the name of the agency that initally took me on if you like.

Yes Please Nurrish that sounds perfect.

This is the route that Ideally I would like to take. I understand it may not work out that way but god loves a tryer :)

Thanks all.

I don't get that really. You want to try that way, when there are far easier and quicker ways available, like skilled migration? So Nurrish got sponsored for a permanent visa within 3 years, many people get their skilled migrant visa within months...