Planning our move to Canberra

NeelD

Hi,

We are currently waiting for our 190 visas to be granted. Deadline for submitting documents is 17th October and everything has now been uploaded.

Wife and son will be joining me on this new adventure. I'm a Carpenter and Joiner by trade and wondering where the best place would be for renting a home...don't want anything too expensive. Hoping to make the move a few months after the visas are granted. Well after we sell the house and ship the car and household stuff in cargo.

We are Indians and vegetarians and have no friends or family in ACT. Hoping someone might be able to guide us and provide us with some assistance to where we can consider moving to.

Thanks

• 3 weeks later...
Hi,

We are currently waiting for our 190 visas to be granted. Deadline for submitting documents is 17th October and everything has now been uploaded.

Wife and son will be joining me on this new adventure. I'm a Carpenter and Joiner by trade and wondering where the best place would be for renting a home...don't want anything too expensive. Hoping to make the move a few months after the visas are granted. Well after we sell the house and ship the car and household stuff in cargo.

We are Indians and vegetarians and have no friends or family in ACT. Hoping someone might be able to guide us and provide us with some assistance to where we can consider moving to.

Thanks

Hi NeeID,

You'll need to look at a map and get a feel for the Canberra suburbs/satellite towns but as a very broad rule of thumb the further north or South you are (I.e. Further away from the centre), the cheaper rentals generally are, so your best bet will probably be to look at Tuggeranong in the South or Gunghalin in the North.